Prof. Dr. Peter Müller-Buschbaum

Chair for Functional Materials

Physics Department
Technische Universität München

James-Franck-Str. 1
85748 Garching

Room 3278, E13
Phone 089/289-12451
Fax 089/289-12473

Sekretary 089/289-12452


  • Since 4/2018: University Professor (W3), Chair of the Institute for Functional Materials at TUM, Scientific Director of Neutron Source for Research Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (FRM-II) and Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ)

  • Since 7/2017 member of the Aptitude Committee of master course "Materials Science and Engineering" (MS&E) at TUM

  • Since 9/2016 spokesman and board member of the Graduate School of "Munich School of Engineering" (MSE) at TUM

  • Since 6/2016 member of the doctoral committee of "Munich School of Engineering" (MSE) atTUM

  • since 3/2015 member of "Advanced Light Source (ALS) Review Panel"

  • since 9/2014 member of "Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz-Zentrum (MLZ) Review Panel"

  • from 1/2012 and until 6/2015 Member of "Peer Review Panel 3 - Surfaces & Interfaces"' of "Diamond Light Source Ltd"

  • since 9/2012 Associate Editor of journal ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces of the American Chemical Society

  • since 3/2012 Head of keylab “” in the Bavarian Collaborative Research Project “Solar Technologies Go Hybrid” (SolTech)

  • since 1/2012: Member of the Scientific Selection Panel of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB)

  • since 2011: member of European Spallation Source (ESS) Scientific Advisory Panel (reflectivity)

  • since 2011: German representative at European Polymer Federation (EPF) for polymer physics

  • since 2011: elected member of the 9. Komitee Forschung mit Synchrotronstrahlung (KFS)

  • since 2010: Managing Director of "Network Renewable Energies (NRG)" at Munich School of Engineering (MSE) of TU München

  • since 2010: member of TUMEnergie at TU München

  • since 2010: spokesman of Physik-Department at TU München in the field of energies

  • since 2010: observer at ESUO – European Synchrotron User Organization

  • since 2006: University Professor, deputy chairman of Prof. Winfried Petry at the chair for Functional Materials

  • Member of the Scientific Counsel of "Institut für Biophysik und Nanosystemforschung" at the Austrian Academy of Sciences IBN in Graz (Austria)

  • elected chairman of the ‘Hamburg User Committee’ (HUC) at the synchrotron radiation laboratory DESY in Hamburg

  • 11/04-03/09 member of the subcommittee "Structure and Dynamic of soft-condensed matter" of ILL in Grenoble (France)

last change: April 2018